Critical Times

"Democracy is not a spectator sport."

LOCAL ACTIVIST GROUPS

ORGANIZATION NAME
 AREA OF INTEREST
 CONTACT NAME
 CONTACT EMAIL
 CONTACT PHONE #
 ACLU Sarasota
 Defend Individual Liberties
 sarasotaclu@gmail.com
 ALSO Youth
 LGBTQ+ Outreach 
Nathan Bruemmer
 executive.director@alsoyouth.org 
  941- 951-2576
ANSWER Suncoast
  Racism, Imperialism
 
  suncoast@answercoalition.org
  941-321-7795
  Anti-Racism Working Group
  Anti-Racism
  Mecca Zabriskie
 
  773-540-6200
Coalition of Immokalee Farm Workers- NCF Chapter
 Labor Rights
 Charlie Leavengood 
  charlotte.leavengo17@ncf.edu 
 
Democratic Socalists of America (DSA)
 Political, Labor Rights
 DSA.tampa@gmail.com
  813-575-0524
 Florida Veteran's for Common Sense
 Gun Control Advocacy
Gene Jones
  flveterans@aol.com
  941-349-5131
 The Haven
 Disabilities
  941-355-8808 x226
 Indivisible Northeast Sarasota
 
 
 indivisiblenortheastsarasota@gmail.com
 
  Manatee-Sarasota Sierra Club
 Environmental 
  Krist Lohr
  941-966-9508
 National Organization of Women (NOW)
 Women's Rights
  nowsaramana@gmail.com
  941-257-3211
One Million Hoodies for Justice
Human Rights
  Steven Keshishian
 steven.keshishian17@ncf.edu
 
 Planned Parenthood
Reproduction Rights
 Annie Rosenblum
annie.rosenblum14@ncf.edu
 
  Peace Education and Action Center
  Arlene Sweeting
 
  941-545-5635
 Sarasota Alliance for Fair Elections
 Voting Rights
 Kindra Muntz
 941-497-1764
 Sarasota Ranked Choice Voting Committee
 Voting Rights
 John Severini
 
 
 Sarasota United for Responsiblity and Equity 
 Poverty 
 Brendan Henshaw
 bhenshaw@thedartcenter.org
  941-323-4221
 Streets of Paradise
 Housing
 Greg Cruz
 
 941-704-3511
Students for Sensible Drug Policy
 Drug Policy
 Jessie Sinitch
  jessie.sinitch16@ncf.edu 
 
 Suncoast Waterkeeper
Environment
 J. Bloom
 jbloom@suncoastwaterkeeper.com
  941-275-2922
 Suncoast Women of Action
 Civic Engagement, Political Rights
Helen James 
 womenofaction417@gmail.com
 UN Women Gulf Chapter
Gender Issues
 Sharon Burde
askburdee@gmail.com
  941-383-1363