Fostering Community Dialogue
and Participation

Critical Times

"Democracy is not a spectator sport."

Primary Elections will take place on Tuesday, August 28, 2018. Polls open 7am-7 pm.

The General Election takes place on Tuesday, November 6, 2018. Polls will be open from 7am-7pm.

These are the races that will appear on your Primary Ballot.

Florida is a closed primary state.  This means that several of the races on the primary ballot will be to determine which candidate represents the Democratic or the Republican parties in the November 2018 election. In party primaries, you can only vote if you are a registered member of that party (in other words, Republicans can only vote in the Republican primary and Democrats can only vote in the Democratic primary).  However, there are several nonpartisan races on the ballot where everyone can vote and, in some cases, these races will be decided in August 2018. Want to know about some of the candidates running for local positions? We've prepared a handy cheat sheet here.

US Senate

Republican Primary in August

Governor Rick Scott (REP)

Roque 'Rocky' de la Fuente (REP)

The winner will face Democratic incumbent Bill Nelson in November.

US House of Representatives

US Representative – District 16

Democratic Primary in August

Jan Schneider (DEM)

David Shapiro (DEM)

The winner will face Republican incumbent Vern Buchanan in November.

US Representative – District 17

Republican Primary

Greg Steube (REP)

Julio Gonzalez (REP)

Bill Akins (REP) 

Democratic Primary

April Freeman (DEM)

Bill Pollard (DEM)

Florida Governor

Florida Governor

Republican Primary

Don Baldauf (REP)

Ron DeSantis (REP)

Timothy Devine (REP)

Bob Langford (REP)

John Joseph Mercadante (REP)

Adam Putnam (REP)

Bruce Nathan (REP)

Bob White (REP)

Democratic Primary

Andrew Gillum (DEM)

Gwen Graham (DEM)

Jeff Greene (DEM)

Chris King (DEM)

Philip Levine (DEM) 

Alex "Lundy" Lundmark (DEM)

John Weatherbee (DEM)

Attorney General

Republican Primary

Ashley Moody (REP

Frank White (REP)

Democratic Primary

Sean Shaw (DEM)

Ryan Torres (DEM)

Commissioner of Agriculture

Republican Primary

Matt Caldwell (REP)

Denise Grimsley (REP)

Mike McCalister (REP)

Baxter Troutman (REP)

Democratic Primary

Nicole "Nikki" Fried (DEM)

Jeffrey Duane Porter (DEM)

Roy David Walker (DEM)

Florida Legislators

State House District 70

Democratic Primary

Keisha Bell (DEM)

Wengay Newton (DEM), incumbent

Vito Sheeley (DEM)

As there are no Republican candidates and no write-in candidates, this will be an open primary, all registered voters can vote.  If no candidate receives a majority of the vote, the top two vote-getters will face off in the November election.

State House District 72

Republican Primary

Jason Miller (REP)

Ray Pilon (REP)

The winner will face Democrat Margaret Good in November.

State House District 73 -

Republican Primary

Tommy Gregory (REP)

Melissa Howard (REP)

The winner will face Democrat Liv Coleman in November.

State House District 74

Republican Primary

James Vernon Buchanan (REP)

Linda Yates (REP)

The winner will face Democrat Tony Mowry in November.

12 Circuit Court Judge

Open Primary - NONPARTISAN - Everyone can vote in the election.

Brian Iten, incumbent

Maria Ruhl

Sarasota County Commissioner, District 2 

Republican Primary

Alexandra Coe (REP)

Christian Ziegler (REP)

The winner will face Democrat Ruta Journiari in November.

Sarasota County Commissioner, District 4

Democratic Primary

Wesley Beggs (DEM)

Mike Cosentino (DEM)

Republican Primary]

Alan Maio (REP), incumbent

Lourdes Ramirez (REP)

School Board – District 1

Nick Guy 

Bridget Ziegler 

This race will be decided in the August Primary

School Board – District 4

Shirley Brown 

Karen Rose

This race will be decided in the August Primary

School Board - District 5

Pamela Gavette

Jane Goodwin

Richard Linden

Justin Cody Willis